Tuesday, December 4, 2007

Tropicana non-vegetarian juice!!!!

This is my most harrowing discovery: Tropicana orange juice with omega-3 fatty acids has fish oil and other fish products! Who would've ever thought that a fruit juice could contain animal products and that too a juice advertised as "freshly squeezed orange juice"!! Then I did a search and found this link that lists all the Tropicana, Minute Maid and Florida Naturals juices that contain animal products. On reading the discussion on that post I found that OJ with Vit D from Tropicana are vegetarian but not vegan and from Florida Naturals are NOT vegetarian. Whoa! That was a saving grace.

This just adds the number of items where we need to check the ingredients list!

2 comments:

shashwati said...

Who would think of adding fish products to juice?! How did you find out?!! Wow!

Smriti said...

Just for kicks I thought of looking at the ingredients list; because it's supposed to be "freshly squeezed OJ" I expected to see just that and what I saw made me almost puke!

So basically as long as you're buying plain simple OJ you know it's vegetarian; but if you try to buy ones with additives like Vit. D or Omega-3 you would need to look at the ingredients list to see where the additives came from.

For an OJ fan like me that was a devastating news!